Nigeria confirms 41 new cases of monkeypox in 12 states

The Nigeria Centre for Illness Management (NCDC) has confirmed 41 new circumstances of monkeypox in 12 states.

In a publish printed on its web site on Sunday, the NCDC mentioned circumstances have been recorded between August 29 and September 4.

The breakdown of the determine revealed the next: Lagos (14), Abia (7), Imo (6), Ogun (5), Ondo (2), Akwa Ibom (1), Borno (1), Delta (1), Osun (1), Oyo (1), Plateau (1) and Rivers (1).

The publish learn: “815 suspected circumstances, 318 confirmed circumstances, and 7 deaths from Monkeypox had been recorded thus far within the nation in 2022.

READ ALSO: Nigeria data 48 new monkeypox circumstances in 3 weeks

“The fatality determine exhibits – Delta (1), Lagos (1), Ondo (1), Akwa Ibom (1), Kogi (1), Taraba (1) and Imo (1), with a Case Fatality Ratio (CFR) of two.2 p.c.

“Solely 4 states within the nation accounted for 270 out of 544 circumstances of monkeypox within the nation since 2017. These are Lagos (93), Rivers (71), Bayelsa (62), and Delta (44).

“This interprets to 49.6 p.c of the full variety of confirmed circumstances.”

Be part of the dialog


Assist Ripples Nigeria, maintain up options journalism

Balanced, fearless journalism pushed by information comes at large monetary prices.

As a media platform, we maintain management accountable and won’t commerce the fitting to press freedom and free speech for a chunk of cake.

Should you like what we do, and are able to uphold options journalism, kindly donate to the Ripples Nigeria trigger.

Your help would assist to make sure that residents and establishments proceed to have free entry to credible and dependable info for societal improvement.

Donate Now

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply