Sigur Rós Celebrate 20th Anniversary of ‘( )’ With Expanded Reissue – Rolling Stone

Icelandic art-rockers Sigur Rós will have fun the twentieth anniversary of ( ) — a.okay.a. Untitled, Parenthesis, The Bracket Album or nonetheless you referred to it the previous twenty years — with a reissue of the 2002 LP full with b-sides and unreleased demos from the recording classes.

Due out digitally on Oct. 27 and bodily on Nov. 25, the ( ) reissue options the album’s authentic eight untitled tracks — all remastered — together with demos of tracks #6, #7, and #8 — affectionately know as “E-bow,” “Dauðalagið” (The Dying Music),” and “Popplagið” (The Pop Music), respectively — plus the three songs that fashioned “Untitled #9,” the B-side to “Untitled #1.”

Forward of ( )’s launch, Sigur Rós has shared the unreleased Jacobs Studio Periods model of “Untitled #7,” a.okay.a. “Dauðalagið (The Dying Music)”: 

The follow-up to Sigur Rós’ 1999 breakout LP Ágætis byrjun, ( ) was equally delivered in singer/guitarist Jónsi’s made-up “Hopelandic” language, with the shortage of tune titles including to the album’s dreamy and complicated ambiance.

“We didn’t need to put titles on the file simply because there are presupposed to be titles on the file,” keyboardist Kjartan “Kjarri” Sveinsson (who just lately rejoined the band after a 10-year exodus) stated in an announcement. “Apart from, once I refer songs to my buddies, I at all times say, ‘Take a look at observe 5,’ or no matter.”

“It’s fairly enjoyable complicated folks with having no titles on this album,” Jónsi added in an announcement. “The listener simply names the tune based mostly on what she or he hears. We’ve got our personal names for the songs, however we in all probability interpret them another way than different folks. We actually beloved the responses to Ágætis Byrjun, we bought all types of interpretations from individuals who didn’t perceive Icelandic and thought we have been saying different issues and it turned out these folks have been deciphering the songs based mostly on their very own lives and atmospheres, which was very valuable for us.”

Following their 2020 collaborative soundtrack for Odin’s Raven Magic, Sigur Rós will return with their eighth studio album in 2023, their first correct LP since 2013’s Kveikur.

( ) twentieth Anniversary Reissue Monitor Listing

1. “Untitled #1” — “Vaka” (The identify of Orri’s daughter)
2. “Untitled #2” — “Fyrsta” (The primary tune)
3. “Untitled #3” — “Samskeyti” (Attachment)
4. “Untitled #4” — “Njósnavélin’ (The Spy Machine)
5. “Untitled #5” — “Alafoss” (The placement of the band’s studio)
6. “Untitled #6” — “E-bow” [Georg uses an E-bow on this song]
7. “Untitled #7” — “Dauðalagið” (The Dying Music)
8. “Untitled #8” — “Popplagið” (The Pop Music)
9. “Untitled #7” (Jacobs Studio Periods)*
10. “Untitled #6” (Jacobs Studio Periods)*
11. “Untitled #8” (Jacobs Studio Periods)*
12. “Untitled #9 — “Smáskífa” 1 (Small Disc 1)*
13. “Untitled #9 — “Smáskífa” 2 (Small Disc 2) *
14. “Untitled #9 — “Smáskífa” 3 (Small Disc 3) *

*Bonus Materials

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply